backward
forward

8:12 p.m.
August 22, 2005

New beginning

First day at new job with old company.

This sharing-an-office-with-the-department-director is going to be interesting.

My computer kicks ass, though. I was afraid they were going to give me a piece of crap machine, and had thought about asking if they could give me at least my previous machine there, as it was pretty good.

Instead, I wound up with a machine that had been purchased for a particular purpose and then something about the drivers made it useless for that purpose. And I happened along at the right time. So I've got a 3.4 GHz (I think) with 2 gigs of RAM and a $600 video card. Hells yeah, baby! (And frankly, with the job description I have, I'll probably make better use of that machine than anyone else in the building could. When I was "just a secretary" [hah!], I still needed one of the best machines.)

I spent the day being shown the franchisee software from the inside -- some of the most common stupid things the dealers (we're not to call them "owners" anymore, for whatever reason) do. Also, the three new franchisees that just finished the training class last week are to be mine to support. If (when) they ask me something I don't know, I'm to tell them I'll get back to them.

Department director (who is effectively my boss, though not officially) also tried to get me to answer and make a few calls. I answered one call and promptly handed it over to him (and yes, watching him resolve the issue was educational), and he recognized the look of terror on my face before making me make the next call (which I would've had to hand right over anyway).

It looks as though I'll be doing mostly this help desk thing for the next several months. Right now people are mostly out working; the winter is the busy time for the help desk because the franchisees are indoors and tackling the office work and selling for next year. And the number of users has doubled since last year.

At any rate, except for the scary parts, it was a pretty boring day. Tomorrow will be much the same, and then I'm expected to go through stuff on my own and get familiar with it, and then I'll be taking calls. It's a pretty complicated program...

Enough work babble. (:

********************

My new puffer gave me a bit of a scare after I got home. I couldn't find it for quite a while. But it's alive, at least. Doesn't seem to be liking anything I'm trying to feed it, though.

And speaking of fish, I have lots of work to do tonight -- going to start (finally!) setting up the new tank(s). (It's really going to be setting up two and taking down one, when I'm done.)

backward :: forward

craving of the moment: chocolate

Boo!
*blink!*
LTNR
Hot dicking!
I lost a day or two

past :: present :: profile :: song
rings :: notes :: diaryland




past :: present
rings :: profile
song :: notes
diaryland

The current mood of crazyleo at www.imood.com