backward
forward

10:44 p.m.
August 17, 2005

Just like that

I went in to work today for a couple of reasons. First, the normal thing I've been doing all summer, updating the online manuals. Second, my (old) boss had asked me weeks/months ago to come in for a few hours while she's on vacation to do one of her tasks. Her vacation is next week, so she had to show me how to do the stuff again (haven't touched it in 6 months, so I needed a refresher).

Anyway, so we're in the middle of that refresher when the network admin comes in to my boss's office and says, "Well, it's been nice knowing you." Pretty soon they were both in tears. Just like that, another one fired.

I am shocked, dismayed, and also feel a bit guilty, though it's not really my fault.

He said he'd known it was probably coming.

But the week before I'm supposed to start, hmm? Coincidence? I doubt it.

Though if they didn't hire me, they may well have hired someone else and still done the same thing.

My official job description/offer makes mention of training for "hardware and network set-up and maintenance." I didn't think much of it at the time, other than knowing that they do like to have people backed up by someone else if need be. But maybe they plan for me to take over a lot of those tasks.

But hey. It's just business, right?

****************

Per the plan, I bought a new dwarf puffer today, though I'm not very confident about its chances of making it for various reasons. If it makes it, hopefully it'll take care of the snails in the 5 gallon tank and then eventually join the other puffers in the 20 gallon.

backward :: forward

desire of the moment: escaping into a book for a while

Boo!
*blink!*
LTNR
Hot dicking!
I lost a day or two

past :: present :: profile :: song
rings :: notes :: diaryland




past :: present
rings :: profile
song :: notes
diaryland

The current mood of crazyleo at www.imood.com