backward
forward

1:28 a.m.
June 12, 2005

a boring wedding and an exciting funeral

Second wedding in 8 days.

I didn't enjoy this one much. First, a Catholic ceremony at 3 in the afternoon. I'm not big on religious ceremonies, especially Catholic. The church was rather close to John's office, but he didn't bring the directions -- luckily we spotted a sign on the street that pointed to the church, and we were early so we might've found it anyway.....

Then, some time to kill before the 6:30 reception, which was down in John's mom's area. This was pretty cool, because we went shopping a bit down there, and I finally got my car washed and my Tropiquarium fix in. Sooo many fishy things I'd have liked to get (not to mention fish themselves!).

At the reception, I didn't know anybody except John. And the people I'd met earlier at the church. John didn't know all that many people himself.

Nobody talked to us, and we didn't talk to anybody. I thought about making an effort, but... they weren't my kind of people. We were seated with some of his other co-workers, but they were all from different departments, so John doesn't know them too well, and most of them were quite a bit older and very conservative (some people were talking about how they worked on Republican political campaigns and such), very classic family-oriented people. They were entertaining at times, but... we were invisible.

Bleh.

**********************

Tomorrow is the Voltaire show.

Jeff asked if I might go pick him up, which strikes me as a really cool thing to do -- get to meet him and spend time with him one-on-one (or two-on-one, since I wasn't about to drive into the city alone). The current plan is the John and I will pick him up, and C and I will take him back home -- this ensures that John doesn't get left out, but also that I get some time alone with C. So that's cool.

Thing is, we still don't know where Voltaire lives or how to contact him (other than by the e-mail on his website, which I don't trust that he'd get in time, plus he doesn't know me so why would he send me his address and phone number?). For all we know, he's also planning to bring a semi's worth of equipment and merchandise -- if that's the case, forget it.

I need to stop agreeing to things before I get EVERYTHING I need to know. Because this happens all too often.

Jeff has contacted me to tell me that he doesn't *have* the information to give it to me. So at least I know he's not ignoring this detail. But it would've been nice if he'd have already had the information to begin with.

I've experienced this lesson enough that I should've learned better by now.

But then, it's no skin off MY back, really, if the star of the show doesn't get there.

Of course, I'm me, and I can't let things go that easily. I said I'd do it, accepted the responsibility, and I will make myself suffer if I fail. (I already feel guilty for being so insistant about it -- I feel like I'm being majorly bitchy, partly for writing this in the first place, but... dammit, I need the information, and I have learned that being patient doesn't work in these situations. Usually I get other people to do this part for me, I think...)

But that doesn't mean I can't do it if need be.

I'm going to bed now, and hope-hope-hoping to have an e-mail waiting for me when I wake up with the address, maybe directions even, his phone number in case we get lost/stuck in traffic, and any other information we need, such as how much stuff he's bringing, when he'll be ready, etc...

I don't have much faith in that, however. And I won't be surprised if I have nightmares about the whole thing.

backward :: forward

feelings of the moment: stressed, guilty, disappointed, tired

Boo!
*blink!*
LTNR
Hot dicking!
I lost a day or two

past :: present :: profile :: song
rings :: notes :: diaryland




past :: present
rings :: profile
song :: notes
diaryland

The current mood of crazyleo at www.imood.com